The values that we learn from our parents and family have a greater influence on our future success than the knowledge and skills we learn at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a debate over whether children’s success rests more on values learned from parents and family or on knowledge from school. Some people say that family members are those who shape fundamental behavior, while others hold the opposite opinion and argue that schools have a lot to do with determining children’s future and their stable success. I support the latter view for several reasons.

To begin with, families’ moral instructions and their values help them build a monumental foundation in shaping children’s behavior from an early age. Before putting the first step into school, they undergo many processes, which means parents are their first teachers, and that their children inherit their family patterns. They learn important values such as honesty, resilience, hard work, responsibility, respect, and discipline. These qualities determine their future patterns, the way they decide, behave, act, and overcome obstacles that often occur in the way of reaching success.

On the other hand, other people, including me, agree that school plays a major role in developing their knowledge in exact subjects as they form their critical-thinking, problem-solving, and academic specialized skills that determine their success in their career. Nowadays, in the technologically-driven world where there is a rigorous competitive working environment, for one employee resting upon only soft skills is not enough to be competent and reach success in their field. When they are well-informed about hard skills that demand deep attention to subject details, they are apt to overcome a variety of challenges.

Another point, academic knowledge or emotional intelligence cannot guarantee their brilliant success separately. There are many references from history that highly intelligent people could not reach their aims or goals due to a lack of social bonding. Instead, others who had a common language in cooperation or being a leader benefited from those who could not show or prove their ability or capacity to the public. As a result, their name could not achieve popularity. Therefore, it is important to strike a balance between family values and school education. If these skills combine with each other, they can prove their bright success.

In conclusion, school education provides children with crucial knowledge, while family members are the main factor in developing their character, as they show up later in making decisions that affect their success. Hence, not to be built on one-sided shaky foundations, there should be a balance.