Science tells there are activities that are good for the health. However, some people still continue doing unhealthy habits. Why this is so, and what can be done?

Through modern technology and science, medical staff have more knowledge about human health than in the past and they share their knowledge through some communication channels such as tv, radio, internet and books. So, people throughout the earth are informed about which activities contribute to their health in a positive way. However, even though they are conscious about these activities, they still do such unhealthy activities which could actually harm their health. I believe there are two main reasons behind that. The first is peer relationships and the second is working conditions. In order to change that it is necessary to provide health courses in schools and working places. So that a healthy lifestyle will be planted in.

Since humans are all part of a society, peer relationships are inevitable in every stage of their lives. That’s why, one’s impact on the other affects their actions and sometimes shapes their habits. To exemplify, unhealthy activities like smoking or drinking alcohol start with the effect of other people that surrender that person. In a social circle full of smokers, a non-smoking friend who is exposed to cigarette smoke gradually turns into a passive smoker, and in some cases turns into a smoker too. The other reason behind unhealthy activities is working conditions In today’s corporate world most of the occupations are computer based workers spend almost eight hours a day in front of a computer and move very limitedly during the day. As a result of this, immobility comes out as an unhealthy lifestyle. And with immobility some illnesses such as muscle aches and obesity come.

However, some amendments could be done to reverse these unhealthy activities. First and foremost a healthy lifestyle should be planted. The Ministry of Health can appoint doctors for compulsory seminars. In those seminars doctors visit working places and preach about healthy habits. In children’s cases this could be achieved by adding general health and activities courses to the curriculum. These lessons should be different from physical education courses by aiming at daily life and adulthood.

To sum up, activities are in all life. But choosing the healthier activity depends on the person. Such unhealthy activities such as smoking or lacking exercise are the outcomes of our choices. In order to prevent them it is important to have a healthier mindset which shows people what is the best for their health. This mindset can be achieved through some educational processes such as adding new health courses to curriculums or compulsory seminars for working people.