Scientific research should be carried out by governments, rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that research regarding to science should be implemented by authorities instead of private organizations. Personally, I completely agree with this view because the result of a study can be shared.

On the one hand, the reason why businesses should do scientific research is that this ensures funding is provided immediately. This is because, investors consistently desire to gain a huge profit, they thus are willingness to invest to an experiment. So, research can be done rapidly with a large budget and the result is that governments and people can buy their products to use earlier than those products manufacturing by governments. A remarkable example is some companies in the USA producing vaccines during the Covid pandemic, Covid vaccines were even sold all over the world before the government can provide those vaccines to American citizens. In fact, initially, bosses of these companies invested a great deal of money to this project, which then they earned an extremely high profit.

On the other hand, despite of the benefits of research carried out by private organizations, I still assert it is more beneficial, should governments do this, because the result of a study can be shared for everyone freely. Research implemented by authorities is based on the need of a society, hence, as a result, all residents can receive the advantages from initiatives. Additionally, in China, because of air pollution, the government has developed machines that can tackle with this issue. Finally, those machines are put on public places to purify and improve the quality of the air that are free for all people.

In conclusion, it is of no doubt that research can be finished quickly should it is done by private companies. However, I firmly believe it is more advantageous, when people can benefit without costs from studies carried out by governments.