Scientific research should be carried out by governments, rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is said that scientific research should be deployed and implemented by governments instead of private companies. Personally, I believe that private companies will contribute advantages for nations in the scientific field and scientific research should be carried out by both governments and private companies to ensure fairness and benefits for stakeholders.

Firstly, I suppose that scientific research can be carried out by either governments or private companies as long as these organisations are legal and follow the rules of the ministry. Science is significantly wide and varied, containing a wide range of fields that attract scientists to discover. For example, researching space outside earth requires a lot of resources. A government is unable to provide enough money and human-being which serve for research. Many private companies are willing to support these works by distributing financial resources and human resources. This is a good way to get success faster and easier. Not to mention, it will be a waste if we can not exploit as much as possible, so that the more organisations take research, the more value we can get.

Secondly, not all talented people can take part in governments, such as amateurs who are passionate about science can have chances to work in private companies to devote their talent to scientific works. For instance, every year, a government can receive a certain amount of scientists. Therefore, the one who has a profession in science but does not meet the criterias to work in a government can take another choice, such as private companies. This also helps to avoid intellectual bloodshed. These private companies are able to offer conditions, equipment, experiment rooms, facilities… for these amateurs to research scientific aspects and explore their potential. It is a great way to develop and contribute to the science field.

All in all, to a certain extent, whatever governments or private companies, these organizations will contribute to the success of the national science industry. Thus, I believe that countries should permit governments and private companies to do scientific research to exploit as many resources as possible.