Serious violent crimes are becoming more common among people who are under18. Some people think children who are committing serious crimes should be treated like adults, while others would say they should be rehabilitated. Discuss both these views and give your opinion

Some people argue that Major offences committed by minors should be punished by the law as adults because victims need justice , while other would say that younger children under the age of 18 need to be reformed. However, I believe that they are not old enough to be aware of they were doing, and rehabilitation is a better option.

On the one hand, treating younger criminals like grown ups gives victims justice. Someone who lost their loved ones at the hands of delinquents find it very difficult to cope with the fact they where not sentence to prison because they were not old enough. Their relative is still dead or injured no matter how old the criminal is. For example, The mother of Jamie staurt said that when she saw the murders of her son released as earlier than excepted it because they committed the crime when they were 10 years old of age, it was as if the crime happening all over again. However, I believe that a criminal’s age needs to be taken into consideration because they were not fully developed as human beings.

On the other hand, It is thought that the children who carry out acts of violence , they were not aware of their actions. A young child does not know, as the same degree as adults, the consequences that result in death or injury of a person. This is why in UK young murders are rehabilitated and given new identities, so that they can live a normal adult life outside of prison. I believe that it helps younger criminals reform and it ensures that they do not carry out such acts again.

In conclusion, although sending minors to adult prison gives victims some justice, children are themselves victims, as they are not aware of their actions because they trying to make them as model citizens and hence needs to be rehabilitated .