Shopping is the favourite pastime for most of the young people. Why do you think is that? Do you think they should be engaged to do some other useful activities?

In today world, there exist an abundant of ways of passing time, one of the popular ways among young people is shopping, This leads to pose the question: what is the cause that let shopping have this popularity ? and should be replaced with other activities ? In my opinion, I think that people should pass their leisure time in other useful ways.

The first principal cause of the popularity of shopping as a pastime is the fashion and trending. People around the world try to mimic the famous persons in every aspect of life, like the daily habits, the dressing, or even the design of the house. Additionally, social media are abuse with trends, everyday a new one arise with thousands of followers, and people try to do the same thing, like buying one specific type of dress and post it in social media to be part of the community. Basically, this is the crucial cause of why shopping are the favorite pastime.

However, It is clear that this trend has no advantages except gaining more money for the sellers. It’s a waste of time, energy and money for the majority of people. A leisure time should be a time to relax and recuperate energy to start again working, not wasting the energy and the money that it being gained in the hard working hours. One of the best alternative is passing time reading books, this way will relax the brain and learn a new things in the same time, Statistics show that reading five pages in the day will help to reduce the probability of being affect of Alzheimer and increase the connection between neurons.

In conclusion, Shopping should not follow the trend and fashion in social media because it’s a waste of time, energy and money. However, it exist a lot of ways to pass the leisure time like reading books in order to still learning even in the relax time.