Shops should not be allowed to sell any food or drinks that have been scientifically proven to be bad for people's health. Do you agree or disagree?

Many think that edibles or beverages that have been shown by scientists to be adverse for our health should be banned from being sold by businesses. I disagree with this because prohibition is not going to stop people from consuming certain foods and drinks, and small businesses would also lose money, which would be detrimental to the economy.

Consumption of certain foods and drinks deemed dangerous to people’s health by scientists is not going to decline because of a ban by governments. People will continue to use these items by acquiring them on the black market or by other illegal means. Prohibition of other substances such as alcohol and drugs has been a failure in most countries as economies work on supply and demand and individuals will get things, they want by any means possible. A good example is the prohibition of alcohol in the USA in the 1920s.

Shops are also going to lose an important source of income from the sale of these products, with dire consequences for the overall economy. As consumers find illegal ways to buy these products, businesses will lose customers and will not get money from the sale of certain food and drinks, while criminals will make more money. Consequently, the whole economy of a country would suffer as the government will not be able to earn tax from the relevant earnings from shops. This is the case with other banned substances, where only criminals earn money from these goods while the broad public and governments lose money.

In conclusion, many people are of the opinion that shops should be prohibited from selling food and drinks that put our health at risk. As I have shown, this proposition will have negative consequences as shoppers will buy these banned goods on the black market with the consequential loss of earnings by businesses and governments.