Should a city try to preserve its old, historic buildings or destroy them and replace them with modern buildings?

Some people think that historical buildings are no need for the city and they should be destroyed and replaced with modern ones. However, other people believe that old houses must be saved to know and remember our past.

The question about preservation historical buildings in cities is often complicated and the answer depends on many factors. Definitely, old constructions can be a significant part of town’s cultural heritage. Ancient buildings give a city a unique look, making it different from other places. Actually, such places usually attract people that contribute to the development of the tourism industry and bring economic benefits. For instance, famous Colosseum in Rome is one of the most known landmarks in the world. The Colosseum is a symbol of strength, power and the centuries-old history of Italy. It is also considered the most beautiful and largest stadium of the ancient world, built in the first century as an amphitheater. In fact, about 6 million tourists visit the Colosseum every year.

However, there are several reasons why some people think that certain aged buildings must be destroyed. Without any doubt, if old buildings do not fit the current needs of the society, have maintenance problems or do not meet modern safety standards, their replacing with new ones may be necessary. For example, instead of old rotten house that cannot be restored, it is possible to build new comfortable block of flats, supermarket or shopping mall. Moreover, such a replacement will be useful for city residents and can contribute to economic growth by attracting new businesses and investment.

To sum up, there are different opinions about destruction of old buildings and replacement of new ones. Such decisions depend on historical value of ancient contructions and the needs of city residents because sometimes demolition can be part of an urban plan to create more functional and comfortable living spaces.