Should a city try to preserve its old, historic buildings or destroy them and replace them with modern buildings?

Some people believe that to preserve old, historic buildings more profitable for humanity than destroy or build a new modern buildings instead of them. There are some reasons that I will discuss bellow I agree with people who want to preserve old, historical buildings.

On the one hand, keeping this old, historical buildings a city can attract a lot of tourists that will be benefit the city. I think that we need to restore historical buildings. For example,if a lot of tourists visit this old, historical buildings there will be many opportunities to make income and build new entertainment venues, as stadiums, restaurants, hotels, theatres, art galleries to make attract more tourists. As a result, many people will have opportunities to get a job.

On the second hand, historic building show our ancestors life. We should kept our history. By preserve old, historic buildings we should pass it in future generations. In my opinion, future generations should know and respect it.

For instance, Blue mosque is located in Istanbul, Turkey. It accepts more than 2 million people each year to show its amazing structure. This brings benefits to the economy of Turkey.

To sum up, I believe that preserving old, historical buildings can bring feasible effects in economy.