Should governments be responsible for ensuring that every citizen has access to affordable housing, even if this means increasing taxes on wealthier individuals, or should housing be left to market forces without government intervention?

In our thriving era,housing problems are holding enormous concern for society. This has sparked a debate over whether governments should be responsible for providing affordable housing for all citizens or just leave the matter to market forces. Although both sides are justifiable, i believe that governments should leave this problem to market forces without excessive intervention

On the one hand, the positive impacts of allowing market forces to control the matter are very clear. When the housing market operates under free-market principles, many companies will be pushed to compete with each other to appeal and attract buyers. Therefore, companies need to make innovations, improve material quality and construction standards. Without being decided by governments, companies are encouraged to make more properties in order to meet evolving the need of accommodations. As a consequence, the housing price will be determined by real economical conditions rather than governmental policies. For example, if the price for accommodation is too excessive or cheap, the sellers must modify it flexibly and suitably. This self-operating mechanism keep housing affordable, ensuring long-lasting market equilibrium and reduce inflationary pressures caused by free housing.

On the one hand, the negative impacts of affordable accommodation are undeniably detrimental. If people receive affordable housing, this thing will invisibly form a dependency culture where people heavily rely on government assistance rather than striving to earn living themself. Thus, hard work will be discouraged and contribute to the huge lack of motivation. Over time, the movement can distort the market equilibrium and lead to some severe inflationary pressures. Besides, higher taxes can be perceived as unfair, leading to resistance of wealthy individuals. Their successes generally depend on their hard work and wise investment so this policy can discourage and limit their business and investing activities.

In conclusion, in my opinion, the best solution to the housing matter is that it should be determined by market forces rather than government