Sleep deprivation has become increasingly common among young adults. What problems can this cause? What measures could help solve them?

Nowadays, sleep deficiency among young generation has become widespread.

One of the primary problems caused by this phenomenon is the decline of academic performance , physical and mental health problems. Sleep is essential for cognitive processing, concentration and productivity. When adolescents do not receive enough sleep for a long time it can lead to poor immune systems, frequent illness, excessive weight. Young people these days who regularly stay up at night can be a clear example; due to lack of sleep, they often feel fatigued and stressed. The major consequences are that lower grades and strained relationships with parents.

The situation can be changed for the better by reducing screen time and having sleep cycles. The digital devices such as smartphones, laptops, computers are the one of the main reason why rising generation do not have enough sleep. To get rid of the habit sitting in the devices all night, parents ought to encourage devices-free time before bed time, it not only solves problems with lack of sleep but also improves sleep quality. Another effective solution is that having minimum four or five cycles of sleep, it will improve quality of sleep and after waking they feel more energized and rested.

In conclusion, although this situation can cause a number of problems such as decline in productivity and academic achievement, these can be addressed by limiting screen time and sleeping in cycles.