Smoking not only harms the smoker, but also those who are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Smoking can result in a variety of medical concerns. Contrary to popular opinion, these consequences are not always long-term, and the impacts of second-hand smoking can be just as severe as actual smoking. While freedom of choice is a right, a government has the responsibility to ensure the well-being of its citizens, and no one should suffer as a result of someone else’s choices. Therefore, I completely agree that smoking should be banned in public spaces.

Second-hand smoking, especially exposure over a long period of time or at large amounts, has the potential to cause most diseases that regular smoking does. A lot of people who are in regular contact with second-hand smoke are children. While harming any innocent person to satisfy your own desires is unethical, it is even more so when taking into account most people don’t understand the consequences of second-hand smoke. The potential impacts on children, who are often exposed to smoking in public places, can unjustly harm them in the future, at the hands of a choice they did not make or were even informed about.

Furthermore, it is the responsibility of a government to oversee the safety and well-being of their nation. Being exposed to second-hand smoke, or just smoking at all, is not safe. While it may contribute to temporary feelings of well-being, it is much more harmful than pleasurable. While there are measures taking place in most countries to educate people on the dangers of smoking, they are highly ineffective. This can, in my opinion, be credited to the lack of effort and weight being placed on this issue. Regardless of the reason, the outcome is clear, and action should be taken to enforce policies, specifically the banning of smoking in public places, with the understanding that it is for the greater good.

Smoking is a harmful act that continues to be done anyway. It is understandable that the sensation of happiness triggered by smoking is addictive, and people do not generally understand the risk they place themselves in by smoking. However, it is ultimately the concern of the government to protect their citizens, especially the ones who did not purposefully harm their health. Therefore, a ban on public smoking is a good place to start to tackle these issues.