Smoking not only harms the smoker, but also those who are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The last few decades have witnessed a remarkable rise in smoking among the younger generation due to hectic work schedule and depression. Smoking is very harmful for the smoker as well as for the nearby people; thus, it should be restricted in public places. I firmly agree with this notion because surrounding people do not breath out the smoke like a smoker, and it often reduces the immunity power of old people.

To commence with the prime reason, proponents argue that smoking is detrimental for the nearby people because they do not release the smoke like the smokers. In other words, smoking is a process where the actual smokers inhale some smoke, hold it for a while in their lungs, and release it in the atmosphere, whereas a normal person slows down their breathing frequency in such situations, ultimately allowing their lungs to absorb more carbon from the air gathered in them. For instance, in a developed country like Japan, where smoking in open areas is a punishable offence, smokers find themselve smoking in a isolated room, resulting in high average living age.

Moreover, smoking can cause different health implications such as cancer, lungs diseases, and breathing disorders, for the senior citizens because the immunity starts falling after certain ages. Although consuming cigarettes is detrimental for all age groups, it has more negative impacts on elderly people as they often suffer from various diseases at the same time. To epitomize, a populated country like India, where the number of passive smokers is much more than the active smokers, promotes ‘Smoking causes Cancer’ in all tobacco products to spread awareness among public, failed in restricting publicly smoking.

In conclusion, smoking not only causes health problems for the senior citizens, but it is also more harmful for the surrounding people. From my perspective, the government should introduce some strict rules in order to control smoking in public places.