"Social media has a mostly negative impact on young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?"

It is thought by some that social media is harmful for young generations. I partly agree with the statement, since alongside minor advantages, major disadvantages are present, such as addictions, sedentary lifestyle.

Firstly, individuals spend a great deal of time on social media daily. Therefore, social media has kind of become a core part of daily routine. The vast majority of individuals utilize social media to keep in touch with the rest of the world. Social media brings people closer to each other by allowing them to convey content to one other. In today’s world when a large number of the population opts for staying at home rather than socialising outdoors, social media assists in connecting people. However, underlying concerns arise due to the situation that could seriously harm the young.

Social media offers an array of unlimited novel content. While it may seem like a positive aspect, it can lead to dopamine addiction and emotional numbness. The mentioned issues reflect in one’s everyday life and limit social skills. Furthermore, individuals tend to compare themselves to the people they see online and criticize each other. This kind of tendency creates a toxic environment unsuitable for younger generations and leads to isolation. Additionally, one of the core causes of mental issues such as depression, is social media.

In conclusion, while social media has the potential to help the humanity to interact, it also creates a dangerous platform for the population