Social media has a significant impact on the way people communicate. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In today world, most of the people use social media for many reasons such as the needs for industry, relaxation, learning new things, communicating with each other and so on. Among these reasons of using social media, communicating with each other like friends, family or loved ones is more common between people who are familiar with mobile phones or not. Indeed, social media has a significant impact on the way people communicate with each other.

From the positive view, communicating via social media has a great deal of good points as social media like Facebook can connect with people we might know by sending friend request or accepting their friend requests. We can make both audio calls and video calls and can also see what they uploaded about their life updates on newsfeed or on their myday. We can also share files which is need for our jobs via Viber, Telegram, Whatsapp or something like that. Because of social media, people can connect easily and have not broken connection with their loved ones from long distance such as going abroad or travelling to some places or town, and so it makes people’s heart closer and closer.

On the other hand, communicating via mobile phone, tablet or laptop using social media is not safe because of privacy issues or technical issues. The records of communication such as audio call, video call, text, photos, files and so on are all stored on the server of used application. In government offices, some officers share files consisting private data of government via social media such as Viber. It is very harmful for government office if someone stole or sell their data to other competitor office or country. So, it is better to send in person in such cases. For normal social media users, when they communicate with each other by texting, all these text are stored on the servers of application they used. So, there can be many privacy issues by communicating with social media.

To sum up, although social media helps people to connect people from long distance or even in the same town or in the same house, communicating via verities of social media applications has many drawbacks of privacy issues. In my point of view, government should control data centers to be very high information security and armed cyber security forces to control and punish cyber crimes. If this happens, I believe that communicating via social media will be safe and it will have a significant impact on people lives and will create a very beautiful and happy world for all the livings.