Social Media has helped us increase our virtual networks. This has isolated us physically, making us socially awkward in person. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion.

It is true that these days, social media has caused better online environment for us. However, this has made us distant from people in real world. Personally, I disagree with that statement for the reasons that internet sources cannot be a solely reason for this behaviour nor can it isolate us externally.

As being told, the online platform is creating wide opportunities for networking and relationships for users. The belief that this has made us acting awkward in society cannot be viewed as a single cause for it. It all comes from people’s background, characteristic development and how they used to make friends along the way. If a person is shy and tend to have introverted patterns, it will be hard to go out with newcomers in a natural way; proving that it is not only affected by social media. Similarly, it underlines that extroverted persons are not easily suppressed by actively engaging in online conversations. For example, school students cooparate with each other almost every day, and diversity of personalities among them can be seen easily.

Furthermore, I do believe that being a part of an online community increases the social circle, and helps to improve communication skills. Usage of chatting apps together with constantly widening friends’ group – support clarifying ideas approprietly and structuring words in a more logical and effective way. Thus, it reduces the awkwardness in public or in casual interactions with a not-so-close relative. Not only it builds up the inner confidence, but also helps a person to recognise individual interaction behaviour with others.

To conclude, social media has, indeed, been considered as a drive for online connections. However, considering this to be a cause for physical isolation is contraticted with arguments stating that individual personality plays much more significant role; beyond this, skills gained from online platforms can be useful in real world.