Social Media has helped us increase our virtual networks. This has isolated us physically, making us socially awkward in person. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion.

It is a widely contended opinion that despite helping people stay digitally active and connected, social networking has limited their social skills. I wholeheartedly agree with this and the reasons behind my agreement will be outlined in this essay.

To begin with, multifarious facts are evidence that the physical and in-person interaction has been restricted with the advent of social media. Lack of physical exercise is the most significant one. To be more precise, from students to adults, everyone is using networking sites either for studies or entertainment. However, this increased screen time has a devastating effect on their health. For instance, over usage of such sites causes eye strain and sitting at one place for long time which eventually leads to weak eyesight and obesity respectively overtime. Hence, social media wage is restricting physical activity.

Not only is this deteriorating people’s health, but also making them socially inactive due to lack of social interaction. In other words, majority of the individuals are spending their time on phones or other media because of which their face-to-face communication has reduced to such an extent that they have no confidence to express their thoughts publicly. In addition to this, their social skills like cooperation, co-ordination and teamwork abilities are no where to be seen owing to their isolated behaviour caused by social media. Therefore, they feel hesitant in public when it comes to show their ideas.

Taking everything into consideration, it can be concluded that even though digital platforms are great source to strengthen virtual connections, the impact they have on people’s physical health and behaviour is far too influential to be ignored.