Social media has replaced the traditional methods of communicating, and people use more and more social media to communicate, and to follow news and events. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

People all over the world have been highly influenced by new ways of communication, primarily the social media. It has led to the downfall of the traditional media monopolies. In my opinion, it has significant positive aspects than the negative ones.

To begin with, it is true that social media has taken the place of traditional methods of comminication. This has reduced the physical mobility of the general public. A clear example can illustrate this; In the past, majority of people used to rely on newspapers and magazines to know about what was happening in the world. They had to walk more or less distance to get the fresh news materials. Similarly, face to face communication has also been reduced among the people with the massive occupation by the new media. Ultimately, this will contribute in the probability of being ill mainly due to long-term disease like diabetes.Additionally, it may even cause eye problems due to extensive screen-time.

However, I believe that the use of social networking sites offers several benefits. Firstly, people can become famous in fortnight using social media networks like Facebook, YouTube and Twitter and Tik Tok. They are likely to set the career for the users. Secondly, even the old media such as radios, televisions and magazines have maintained their strong online presence. From this, people tend to get high quality audio-video contents including videos and documentaries, as compared to the traditional media. I addition to this, social media users can get in touch with their relatives and friends residing in any part of the world, comparatively in lower cost saving travelling expenses and time.

To recapitulate, though the diminishing use of traditional forms of communication may bring health issues, people get plethora benefits ranging from assistance in daily activities to setting a professional career on it. Thus, I opine that the advantages of communication via social media clearly outweighes disadvantages.