Social media is becoming increasingly popular among all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

Lately social media network sites gain more and more users from all age groups, nevertheless some people argue that the use and publication of personal data presents dangers. Although social media has its downsides, I believe the amount of positive impact by providing platforms for human connection is bringing more benefits than dangers.

The most prevalent danger these online sites expose their users to is the option of engaging anonymously. Anyone can freely use social media under a false name or just a online username and use personal information other users shared, for anything without any reprecussions. For instance cyberbullying is a major issue that is difficult to combat as anonymous users can comment hateful remarks on personal posts without facing any consequences. That is especially dangerous when it regards young teens or even children if they are exposed early to such comments, which can result in serious insecurities or even trauma in their development years.

On the other side, social media platforms allow users to connect in various ways despite their distance. Various features like the comment section can be used to socialize and find communities with shared interests, that may wouldn’t exist without social media networks. There are communities for nearly every interest, such as group chats for new residents in various cities across the world, supporting people who are moving to cities without knowing anyone. Personally, I was able to form a beautiful friendship with someone from social media when I did not know anyone in the city I was moving to. Thus, social media opens doors for people to get to know each other and socialize, which is crucial in times of increasing rates of loneliness.

Ultimately I believe the aspect of socialization significantly contributes to our society outweighing the downsides of social media use.