Social media is widely used globally for staying connected with others and accessing news updates. Are the benefits of this change greater than the drawbacks? Explain your viewpoint with reasons and include appropriate examples based on your knowledge or experiences.

In today’s fast-paced society, it is argued by some people that social media is one of the most favorable and user-friendly applications because it offers a multitude of advantages for users in global scale while others contemplate that the setbacks this change posses are greater than its merits. From my perspective, I definitely endorse that the perks of social platforms are far significant than its drawbacks due to some several compelling rationales.

On one hand, it is innevitably admitted that social media these days posses numerous challenges for the whole socieity. Initially, mental illness is one of the most glooming issues of social media. It is a fact that nowadays social media attracts a massive volume of users to register on those platform annually. Nonetheless, these platforms are likely to be uncontrolable owing to the large amount of users, thereby exsisting a lot of contents which are violated the community’s rules and affecting the mental health of users on those social podiums. According from several statistics, if individuals engage in multiple social platforms, they are susceptible to getting some psychological diseases, namely depresson and autism, which occur prominently among youngster. Furthermore, ruining relationships and reducing social interactions are the two severe consequences of this phenomenon as it individuals are likely be addicted by social media, thereby lose the emotional support with family members and friends.

On the other hand, social media outlets obviously offers a vast array of benefits for individuals both personal and professional lives. One imperative advantage of social media is interconnectedness. In fact, social media platforms presently play a crucial role in linking people together regardless of distances or geography. For instance, users are able to log in those social media and take advantage of them for keeping in touch with relatives or forging new relationship with international friends. In addition, gaining more knowledge about other countries’ cultures is pivotal. Indeed, those social forums provide opportunities for people to acquire cross-cultural knowledge and gain broader understanding about international cuisines, civilizations, and tourist destinations. Plus, businesses’ reputation can be promoted through social media. Not only does social media aid companies to save advertisement cost but they are also considered as a handy and friendly approach to reach prospective customers by serveys or questionaires.

In conclusion, I’m inclined to believe that the upsides of social media outlets is overshadowed its downsides. Nevertheless, it also a double-edged sword if individuals overly reliant on them, thus there must have a close scrunity on this tendency of using social media.