Social networking sites are becoming more and more accessible.Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

In this day and age, social networking sites are becoming more popular and accessible to citizens. In my opinion, such a trend is more advantageous than disadvantageous due to a number of reasons which will be presented in this essay.

Regarding the disadvantages, there are two that are the most noticeable. To begin with, people’s mental well-being can be adversely affected by the negative aspects of these sites. Users who are sensitive and immature are likely to face cyber-bullying, they can easily be attacked by toxic comments, which pose a threat to their emotions. In the worst-case scenario, it could lead to some mental health problems such as depression, anxiety,… In addition to this, people can be faced with data leakage and indentity theft, especially netizens who are obilivious to the risks of social network. To be more specific, they might be fooled by cybercriminals into signing in to their self-built websites, making it easy for them to steal personal information and use it for bad purposes.

However, such disadvantages can be outweighed by the advantages listed below. One of them is the ability to enable individuals to expand their social circles and maintain their long-distance relationships. The advent of applications like Messenger and Zalo proving people with messaging and video calling functions, helping them communicate with people regardless of geographical location, thus, people can not only make new friends but also keep their old ones, who are living far away from them. Another upside is that everyone can stay updated with the latest news, and sudden changes in their lives. Social trends are relentlessly posted in social platforms on an daily basis that people could have a quick access to a wide range of information, which enhances individuals’ knowledge about current events in society.

In conclusion, many negative impacts can be seen when this fact takes place. Nevertheless, its positive influences are much greater, from my point of view.