Society is based on rules and laws. It could not function if individuals were free to do whatever they wanted to do. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Law and order play a significant role in the development of any nation. Societies depend on rules and regulations to function. Allowing citizens to spend their life freely might negatively influence the positive operations of society. I firmly agree with this perspective and this essay will explain my reasoning with examples.

Firstly, if there are no rules and regulations in a country, then it will have a devastating effect leading to increase in the rate of criminal activities in the society such as corruption, murder, use of drugs and violation of traffic signals. Moreover, the criminals will roam freely in the areas not trying to avoid any illegal activity, as they assume there will be no detrimental consequences of their activities. For instance, complete freedom given to thief can only result in increased number of thefts in a country.

Secondly, without law and order individuals suffer from various social issues such as environmental disruption and stress. Additionally, there will be lack of trust and honesty among people, as presence of no law will support civilians to deceive each other. Furthermore, this not only enhances choas among people but also impacts the development of nation. The mental health of youth is likely to be highly disturbed due to lack of peace in their country.

In contrast, freedom is the basic right of every individual of society. Freedom develops sense of responsibility among people to work and bring revolution in society. It urges people to stay motivated, leading to various positive effects on society.

In conclusion, freedom brings hurdles in the effective and efficient working of society. I strongly agree with this opinion as freedom also leads to increase in the rate of criminal activities and development of stress and disruption among civilians.