Society is based on rules and laws. It could not function if individuals were free to do whatever they wanted to do. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

In the contemporary world, the majority of individuals rely upon the ethics of social rules and laws. However, some people claim that if rules and laws did not exist, our world would become pure mayhem, and therefore, we would never have justice, peace, and control, not to mention the possibility of neglecting entire societies. I strongly believe that laws and rules are the only resolution to any conflict, and undeniably, they bring not only control but also order and safety to residents.

First and foremost, rules and laws were conceived by Romans long ago with a simple yet meaningful purpose – to take control of society and introduce a conception of strict laws that simultaneously influence every individual and keep the government completely safe and functional. Thereby, Romans formed by far the most efficient law system that the world had ever seen, and it prevented hundreds, if not thousands of revolutions and armed conflicts.

Moreover, laws and rules not only soothe dissatisfied people or resolve particular misunderstandings between individuals; they primarily bring offenders to justice for their committed deeds and crimes. For instance, Rome created a system of judgement, which functioned quite marvellously and showed both the government and people that law is a newfound power and key to the future.

In sharp contrast, laws and rules are indubitably effective, but they have a fragile side, which is corruption. Corruption itself has always been around and never abandoned our world. In recent times, though, corruption is at its peak; politicians, governors, and entrepreneurs benefit from the corrupted system of law, and consequently, implement restrictions and rules that belittle the social rights and status of people. While it favours those who are superior and influential worldwide, it puts individuals under a tremendous threat and undermines their rights.

All things considered, rules and laws are intensely vital for the existence of our society; they are an indispensable part of our community without a single doubt. Even though laws and rules may be vulnerable to corruption and background influence from politicians and other governors, which may cause chaos and hoaxes inside the country. Nevertheless, we must not forget that laws and rules are the foundation of our world and society; we cannot exist without them in any case.