Solar energy is becoming popular in many countries of the world because of its availability without any limit. Do the advantages of solar energy outweigh its disadvantages?

At the present moment, since scientists from around the world are projecting that there might be a lack of oil in the future, new renewable sources of energy are becoming more popular. This essay will analize advantages and drawbacks of solar energy and explain why nowadays the disadvantages outstrip the advantages.

On the positive side, solar energy is an endless source of energy because of its connection with the sun, which energy is unlikely to run out in our lifetime. People could use this energy and project a bright future for many years. For instance, the lifetime of the sun is estimated by billions of years, whose energy is not about to decrease in a projected future. The second advantage is that sun energy is clean and eco-friendly. Since solar panels produce zero pollution in the air, while their closest competitor, coal, is the main cause of air pollution worldwide, they are considered a more environmentally friendly energy source.

On the other hand, because solar energy is a new technology, scientists have a lot to study in the future, and due to this solar energy has a few critical disadvantages. Firstly, dust is the main reason for problems with solar panels. For instance, the main reason why people can not build solar panels in a place where the sun is up for 20 hours is the dust, humanity still does not find how to tackle the problem with the dust in the Sahara desert. Secondly, solar panels are just not efficient enough to be the main source of energy in countries. Solar energy is ten times less efficient than coal, and the area which takes for solar panels is incomparable.

To sum up, nowadays humanity has a lack of research in this field, at this moment the disadvantages are too critical and vital compared to the advantages. However, in the future solar energy might be the main resource of energy.