Some argue that increased access to technology, particularly the internet, has led to a decline in critical thinking skills. Others believe that technology enhances critical thinking abilities. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Both views are correct in their own way. The views we hold about anything are simply the way we see that thing. Some people may see it as marvellous advantage and some may perceive it as a waste of time.

Let’s begin with the first group who believe that technology for instance internet diminishes our critical thinking skills. This may be true if we see it through the lense of physical aspect. Using internet requires more exposure to screen that may have various adverse effects that may be weakening of the eyesight, severe headaches and sleep problems like insomnia or excessive sleeping. It also makes u mentally exhausted, in result the ability to think more decreases, so person’s energy to think critically reduces to a great extent.

The second group who thinks that technology enhances critical thinking are also somehow correct. People who spend more time to productive activities on the internet may immensely benefit from it. Using internet resources like playing mind games, watching critical thinking series can sharpen your abilities to think. The thing is to use it for productive causes can make a huge difference in your cognitive abilities. It’s solely depends on your choice of spending your time on the internet.

I agree with both the opinions because both views hold logical basis. I think what matters the most is people’s choice of the use of internet on various sources. If people tend to spend more time on productive activities on internet they’ll benefit, same goes for the other way. To use it moderately is also a very critical choice. People should try to use it in reasonable way