Some argue that international cooperation is crucial for addressing global challenges such as climate change and poverty. Others believe that individual nations should prioritize their own national interests. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are several opinions about interaction between different countries regarding global issues. On one hand, there is the point of view that cooperation should be established worldwide. On the other hand, some people insist that every government must place the interests of their own nation in the first place. From my perspective, if each state were acting according to its own purposes, it would definitely lead to terrible consequences both in the world economy and in the global climate. In this essay we will discuss why individual goals are not so relevant at the global scale and why we must learn to cooperate internationally.

As far as the national interests are concerned, we can see that every government is targeted to one obvious thing. It is the well-being of their citizens. Though it takes a lot of resources to maintain a sustainable society with the appropriate quality of living, some countries are more successful in that than others. Scandinavian countries are the ultimate example of high life quality as far as Singapore. They all have a strong economy, a low unemployment rate, and a high GDP. But even if we take as an example less rich countries like Brazil, Argentina, or Russia, whether they are successful politically and economically or not, their governments are still doing their best to improve internal conditions for people. For instance, Norway and Russia rely on the fossil fuel and invest received income to infrastructure. Both Brazil and Argentina get money from agriculture and also spend it for their own development. All of these country do not grant any access to their resources for other states.

But could any of the above-mentioned wealthy countries thrive as they are if there were no international cooperation at all? I am convinced that they couldn’t. Casting aside international trade, businesses, and cultural exchange, we see that humanity faces more challenges year after year. Starting from overpopulation, scarcity of natural resources, and plummeting food supply to natural disasters, climate change, and pollution. The individual state efforts are not enough to withstand such a global threat. Only combined and coordinated actions could help. For me, one of the great examples of such a complex approach is the ozone holes problem. It had not been solved until the majority of countries did not accept a restrictive legislation to prevent ongoing destruction of the ozone layer. Latest reports show that these holes are slowly shrinking, which is a great victory.

In conclusion, it needs to be said that every country should take care of its population; otherwise, people there would not be happy. But we live on Earth, and it is our only home, so we must act together to save it for future generations.