Some argue that patriotism is the primary cause of wars globally. Others feel that it serves to prevent less ethical politicians from running a country and starting wars. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

With right-wing parties gaining popularity more than ever, patriotism has become a topic of debate among politicians. One group contends that nationalism and patriotism can trigger wars, while others argue that they could prevent politicians with personal intentions from acquiring power. This essay will outline different arguments and assert why it is crucial to have patriots in office.

Most of the “patriots cause war” advocates—mostly immigrants—oppose patriotism because of their histories with wars. Throughout history, there have been numerous politicians who have started wars in the name of patriotism but with personal intentions behind their actions and decisions. One famous example, Adolf Hitler, started the Nazi party in order to return Germany to its golden era, but later, historians discovered that, conversely, he intended to expand his power by conquering Europe.

I believe that patriots should hold power in order to develop a country and protect it from foreign threats. Additionally, by applying values based on patriotic administration, the public population will become more united, so that a country can take advantage of its full political potential. For instance, under Donald Trump’s administration, which was Republican, illegal immigration faced a significant decline, consequently resulting in more job opportunities for the local population.

In conclusion to this essay, patriots undeniably play a pivotal role in how a country is run. In my perspective, in modern politics, nationalists do not perform as aggressively as they used to. Even though there are some drawbacks to patriotism, they are heavily outweighed by its benefits.