Some argue that patriotism is the primary cause of wars globally. Others feel that it serves to prevent less ethical politicians from running a country and starting wars. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Over the last few decades, the world has been witnessing an ongoing debate about patriotism and how it influences the world. While there has been a tendency to believe that patriotism contributes to inciting hostility and wars, I believe that people who respect their countries might built a state with a high standard of living and without conflicts throughout the years.

On the one hand, nationals are used to patriotic slogans which indeed can instigate the society and aggress against other states, causing the world wars. Regarding this, using such emotional phrases can be a manipulation from the “patriots”, playing on people’s feelings and crossing the line from patriotism to chauvinism. For example, Hitler’s aggressive speeches which were perceived by the nation as “patriotic” not only caused the Second World War but also influenced the genocide of peoples. Hence, using patriotism as a manipulation tool for own purposes among individuals might trigger not only wars but also destroy the whole population.

On the other hand, individuals vote for ethical leaders in terms of persuasion they are mainly against corrupt politicians. Indeed, patriots tend to defend the interests of the state rather than its own and focuse on soft power which can contribute to state development and economic stability. A good illustration for this is the country with the strongest economy in the world is Switzerland, which has not been involved in wars for almost 200 years due to ethical individuals who hold political posisions. Thus, patriotism which leads towards diplomatic solutions not only fosters long-term national stability and prosperity but also can be a safeguard against corruption and military conflicts.

In conclusion, despite the fact that misuse of patriotism facilitates fierce ideological ideas and worldwide wars, I am totally convinced that balanced patriotism might boost both the economy and welfare of the country