Some argue that prisons should focus on punishment, while others believe rehabilitation is more important. Discuss both views and give your opinion

The purpose of prison has been a heated discussion among these days. Some acclaim that the primal reason that prisons should build is to punish prisoners, throwing them in severe environment. Others argue that it should be a place where it rehabilitates prisoners, give them a chance to nurture their conciousness. Before giving my view, we are going to discuss both viewpoints.

On the one hand, it is said that people who have made mistakes in their life should be punished, let them learn a lesson of their consequences. No matter how extent they have commited a crime, they have crossed a line which should not be crossed in one’s lifetime, ranging from stealing goods to murder people. Once they are thrown in a uncomfortable cage where surrounded with guards, getting beat by bat or forced to do heavy load work, the notion that what you have done will eventually come at you will be embedded into criminals mind. This system will theoretically benefits society where it will oppress any though of invading laws again in the future.

On the other hand, it is also true that people who have committed a crime can nurture their inner-self, and grow their consciousness. Some countries offer them opportunities to adopt cats if they are behaved well, although at first it was criticized by media for this drastic approach. However, surprisingly, the total numbers of incidents as well as overall behaviors dramatically improved, they become more mature, humble, modest and chill. Despite acknowledging the validity of prisons being a place where it torture inmates, the nuanced balanced where it both teach them lessons with time to change themselves is important.

In conclusion, there is a controversial debate where prisons should be treated as a place to train people with bats or as a school where it helps them to improve themselves as a person. It should have both balanced system which will have the most efficient effect on them.