Some argue that teachers should focus on academics more than motivating students. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, it is widely believed that being a teacher requires not only being able to properly explain the study material to students, but also being competent to support them and encourage to work. However, some tend to argue the opposite. While I find it difficult to fully agree with either of these positions, I will give my view on both points providing reasoning.

Education is a vital part of the modern world and it demands students to be focused and prepared to continuously study in order to get the expected result. However, it is truly hard for a person to make such an effort without motivation, that is why tutors try to help unmotivated tutees to realise why they put in hard work. For instance, many first-year university students in countries all over the world struggle to force themselves to study because of a lack of motivation, whereas their professors strive to encourage them to continue their education.

At the same time, it is apparent why many suggest that academics should be the main focus of teachers. While motivation is undoubtedly indispensable, without quality education students will nor develop any useful skills, neither obtain a high-level theoretical basis. Furthermore, students influenced by their authorities to study low quality courses could subsequently get disappointed due to a detrimental outcome of their hard work.

In conclusion, being a teacher in today’s world constitutes an ability to both educate students and make them recognize the reason why they are putting in their time and effort to study. Many argue that the motivational aspect is hardly as essential, as the educational, however, I cannot fully agree with this very point of view. I contend that while quality education is indeed crucial, motivation similarly plays a critical role in studying. It is imperative that teachers continue providing superb schooling as well as encouraging students to work.