Some argue that the primary goal of education should be to prepare students for the job market, while others believe it should focus on fostering critical thinking and personal development. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Education plays a crucial role in people’s lives. However, opinions are divided on whether it should mainly focus on developing workplace skills or whether the development of personal skills and boosting overall academic knowledge is the main priority. While I agree that it is important for the education system to prepare students for adult life, including the question of employment, I firmly believe that it mainly ought to focus on academic knowledge.

On the one hand, many claim that educational institutions, such as schools or universities, must help students to become effective employees. Although it is true, without a proper education students tend to fail becoming eminent within the field they intend to work in. For example, if you want to become a biology teacher, without the deep understanding about this subject, you are likely to fail to become a successful teacher. This is why many claim that schools’ or universities’ curricula have to help learners to master subjects and provide well-structured classes, rather than solely advising them on how to become valuable workers.

On the other hand, it is widely thought that the education sector ought to primarily assist students in mastering subjects. They constantly claim that if you lack vital skills, such as practical, theoretical, and analytical ones, you are not a potentially good worker in the eyes of an employer. That is to say, you might be good at persuading individuals or be talkative, without an attractive background, consisting of a rich experience and deep knowledge of the subject that the work is specialized at, you may not be hired. This is why many believe that syllabuses shall mainly help students to master subjects.

In conclusion, while both workplace and theoretical skills are significant, I firmly believe that educational institutions should mainly focus on providing a wide range of invaluable knowledge, needed for students’ future jobs.