"Some believe students should wear uniforms in college, while others argue that it restricts individuality. Discuss both views and give your opinion."

There are lots of folks who are convinced that students in college should wear uniforms with the intention of imparting order and equality. Some other arguments against wearing uniforms are those who cannot express or feel free to wear them. All are correct statements, but I think in college, the students should be able to show their feelings – college uniforms don’t need to be put on in most cases.

A school uniform on the other hand, can bring the students of the school together. They can get people from the same profession to wear attire in a uniform, and eliminate a large amount of social distinctions regarding fashion and wealth. Further, uniforms can help to promote discipline and ensure that the learner adopts the proper attitude towards their learning. Many schools which insist on uniform wear argue that, where youngsters are dressed in uniform, there is less diversion and concentration upon the learning activities being undertaken.

College, however, is where the young develop themselves and pursue their future career. Freedom of dress enables pupils to express themselves, their culture and creativity. Moreover, students in college don’t need to be so well-regulated and can wear appropriate clothes. Therefore, it is a factor which when observed can be considered as restraining a person from making a choice regarding their clothing and hence a restriction on their freedom.

To sum up, I don’t think that uniforms are necessary at colleges, but they help establish equality among the students and discipline. Encouraging independence, responsibility and self-expression in higher education, while respecting reasonable behavior policies and/or personal attitude policies on dress.