Some believe that international tourism can lead to the loss of local culture and traditional values in popular destinations. Others, however, claim that tourism provides the necessary funding and interest to preserve cultural heritage. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The topic of global tourism and its impact remains a subject of considerable debate. While some contend that excessive traveling has had a harmful effect on national traditions, others believe that it helps widespread local cultures. Although both perspectives have merit, I am convinced that the rise of tourism has caused more drawbacks than benefits for ethnic heritage.

On one hand, the proponents of active traveling claim that the development of international tourism has made it feasible for us to gain a clearer understanding of authentic cultures around the world. Expanding our knowledge about various traditions has helped us learn more about the origins and past lives of other nations. For instance, visiting Mexico during November enables tourists to participate in the celebration of Day of the Dead and find out more about Mexican history and their beliefs. However, traveling has become exceedingly popular and frequent; therefore it has made it more challenging for countries to remain their cultural identity.

On the other hand, skeptics frequently argue that encouraging cultural exchange has cost us national individuality. Nowadays, many cities that attract a lot of tourists are undergoing the process of losing locals. The clear example of this is Paris, since only a minority of its population is French. If people with other nationalities continue to assimilate with the same pace, the capital of France will be under the risk of entirely losing its identity and ethnic community. In addition to that, we should find the middle ground, which will encourage cultural diversity without the erosion of traditional values.

In conclusion, although traveling broadens our horizons and educates us about diverse civilizations, it also results in the gradual disappearance of national heritage and belief. Therefore, it is crucial to acquire a balance, which will give us an opportunity to share our history and culture, without putting them under a risk of vanishing.