Some believe that people today have no interest in maintaining the traditional culture of their country or region. Others believe that it is still important to people that we preserve a traditional way of life. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people argue that maintaining local traditional cultures is not attractive nowadays, while others believe that it is essential to conserve them. Although the modern era brings much more access in terms of culture and custom from all over the world, I believe that preserving traditional culture is highly essential because there are some values within those customs.

With the development of technology, people are becoming more familiar and easier to access another culture which makes them, at some level, adopt the other foreign culture and even assimilate local and foreign culture to become one. For instance, with the wide range usage of social media, Indonesian citizens are loving Korean culture in music. It leads to the imitation of these elements such as Indonesian songs with the style of korean. This is something that is far different from the past where people were really difficult to be able to explore other cultures. In turn, they cannot imitate and adopt foreign culture as easy as now.

However, no matter how massive the influence of foreign culture, it is really crucial for the citizens to conserve their original custom and heritage. It is because most of the time, the traditional way of life teaches people some valuable lessons. For example,traditional martial arts from Indonesia called “silat” teach its learners to become strong and brave. If this kind of traditional arts are forgotten, there is a possibility that people might not be able to learn the value. And it would lead to weakness and cowardness without this traditional custom.

In conclusion, while it is really easy and interesting to have another foreign culture nowadays, protecting our traditional heritages is really crucial because of its values. Without those values, we might not be able to learn what our ancestors know and believe.