Some believe that pets should stay at home at all times, while others feel they should be allowed outside the home. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, whether pets should be allowed to be outdoors or always at home is in heated debate. This essay will discuss both points of view.

On the one hand, nothing is more important about responsibility. The more time the pets stayed with the owners, the lower their adaptability to the wild, due to limited opportunity for them to equip survival and hunting skills. The missing pets disable their deep family ties, which causes hardly uncurable trauma in the owner’s entire family. It is conceivable that the searching process involves enormous amounts of time, money, and effort. In Hong Kong, when there is pet getting loss, those pets would likely stay in the street and even reproduce rapidly, causing government and citizen’s economic burden. Thus, owners should take an active role in ensuring their pets well-being by limiting the daily activities to be indoors.

On the other hand, an advantage of pets can enjoy outdoor activities is that it ensures their autonomy. Dogs, who need highly involvement in social engagement, permanent locational restriction is impossible because it could cause depression and regression. By showing off our strong soft power, allowing them to enjoy the fresh air is a must. The government should implement more amenities, including parks that are welcome to pets, to safeguard their rights. For example, there are plenty of pet-friendly restaurants that are available for pets to relax in Hong Kong. Therefore, by creating an inclusive community, pets would explore this wonderful world with joy and freedom.

In conclusion, some agree that pets should stay at home at all times owing to the owner’s responsibility. However, some are against it due to pets’ autonomy and mental health. Therefore, with appropriate monitoring, I strongly encourage owners to bring their pets to leave their apartment when needed.