Some believe that students should be taught the importance of competition, while others think that teamwork is more important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is an ongoing debate over whether students benefit from competition or cooperation. While some believe that competitive settings can help learners excel, others contend that teamwork can be a powerful tool to develop crucial competencies such as communication. I firmly believe that cooperation can yield the most positive educational outcomes.

Admittedly, competitive environments can help students experience instant growth. When learners strive to outperform their counterparts, they tend to utilize every resource, including time and effort. This, in turn, results in better academic performance in a short period of time, eventually leading to a greater sense of achievement. A case in point is private schools in my country, Uzbekistan, which highly encourage their students to compete with each other. As a result, students in such institutions are known to be more intelligent than those in public educational establishments. Hence, some believe that competition brings about benefits.

On the other hand, many individuals argue that development of cooperative skills is a better option. One key reason for this is that this approach allows students to develop practical skills, conduct independent research, and express creativity by encouraging learners to acquire knowledge while solving real-life problems. Teamwork, in addition, also teaches responsibility and accountability, since each member of the group has a specific role. When students assigned to a science project, for instance, each member has an essential role on this assignment such as making a presentation, preparing speech papers, and conducting research. If one of these members fails to contribute, it can negatively affect the group’s overall performance. Fittingly, they should do their tasks on time helping them become more reliable and disciplined. For these reasons, this approach is seen as more practical by many.

In conclusion, although both sides have their benefits, I personally believe that cooperation skills can advance individuals’ more necessary abilities such as social communication and responsibility. Nonetheless, every people have their own perspectives and worldviews, but maintaining the balance and thinking carefully before making decisions is highly suggested.