Some believe that younger family members should be legally responsible for supporting older family members when they become physically, mentally and financially unable to look after themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

When people can not make money or physically take care of themselves it’s responsibility of younger family members. I am fully agree with this viewpoint.

Older people wants their younger family members to help them. There are two reasons why they want it. Firstly, most of older people took care of their children or grandsons when they were young so that they will help them in the future when they become mentally physically weak because it shows respect and gratitude which are core values in some cultures. Secondly, elderly people feel safe and they do not feel alone when they cared by family members this is because younger family members understand them and they can help them when they can not do it by themselves.

Young family members should take care of their parents or grandparents because they can not afford buy expensive thing and also it’s good for them too as their children can do it them too when they become older. Older people in the family not always can afford expensive professional care service and daily needs such as medication and meals due to low pension. And that’s why younger family members should help them with finance because they can’t buy everything for their pension. When young people do all of it and their children see it they will help them in the future when they need such care from their children’

In conclusion, if older people can not financially, physically look after themselves their children or young family members should do it as their parents or grandparents can’t afford expensive things and the younger should do it because it shows respect for them and gratitude also they can be helped by their children as they will know how they can help their parents they saw how their parents helped their grandparents.