Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Animal experiments, a very contreversial and sensitive topic that has been debated throughout history. Some people strongly believe this is crucial for human advancement, while others believe it is purely inhumane.

Firstly, some people argue that without animal testing, there was no way we would have found out about a lot of very important scientific discoveries, such as experimenting with new medications, discovering and finding cures to serious diseases and even experimenting with new skincare products and cosmetic products such as makeup. These people would even reply to those who are opposing with “well, if you do not agree, why don’t we experiment on you or other humans instead?”. They strongly believe that human lives are way more valuable compared to those of animals. Humans have careers and stronger familiar bonds, so their justification is that, it would be unnecessary and unethical to potentially harm or waste a human’s life when there’s another option.

On the other hand, a lot of animal right activists have been fiercely fighting against all experimentation on animals and urging governments that it should be outlawed. In their opinion, they say that animals aren’t as that different compared to humans. Both have feelings, can feel physical pain and both have families. Although their brains and emotions aren’t as complex as us but at the end we all live on the same Earth. No one has the right to cause any living being any suffering in any way, shape or form.

If you personally ask me what I think, I understand that it’s a rather complicated argument but looking back at the animal experiments done to study psychology, biology or medicine. Like sending the dog Layka to space or that experiment when they tested if a baby monkey would rather run to a cold cage with food or a warm plush ,in the absence of a mother. Although these experiments are sometimes truly heartbreaking but I believe they were crucial to our advancement in all different aspects of life. So to sum things up, I agree with animal experimentation, as long as it’s truly for the sake of science and is done using the least tortureous and painful methods, if that is available. Plus maybe it would be better, if the animal gets peacefully euthanized after the experiment to save it from any future mental or physical pain.