Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

The question on whether people should experiment with animals is a highly contested topic. On one hand, some believe that experiments involving animals should be made illegal. Nonetheless, others hold the perception that animal experiments are critical in making scientific discoveries. In the following essay, I argue that experimentation on animals is justified although there is a need to look for possible alternatives.

Animals have traditionally been used as specimen in many scientific studies. The use of animals such as guinea pigs has contributed to the discovery of countless treatments for different diseases. One of the reasons why animals are preferred for scientific trials is the comparable value of human life to animal life.. Given the risks associated with these trials, it is more safer to use animals to carry out these studies than would be the case when experimenting with human life. Besides, animals are preferred as subjects for scientific studies given that these can be produced in mass. For example, it is more plausible to use hundreds of mice in a scientific study than puting the lives of hundreds of people at risk. This aspect narrows down to how precious human life.

While this is the case, some people believe that using animals in scientific studies is a form cluelty. The proponents of this idea argue that animal life is as precious as human life. In this respect, scientists should consider other alternatives that would not endanger animals.

In conclusion, scientific experiments play a crucial role in medicine and in enhacing the overall well-being of human beings through the discovery of different drugs. To address the concerns of raised above, it is imperative for scientific researchers to leverage modern technology to find alternative ways through which these studies may be conducted without puting the lives of humans or animals at risk.