Some people believe that old people should learn how to use technology on their own while others think they should attend classes. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that the older generations should be learning to use technology by themselves while some people believe that enrolling in courses is a better approach. While the self-directed method offers learners flexibility and freedom, attending classes creates the appropriate atmosphere for them to make knowledge acquisition more effective. In my opinion, the combination of both methods is the optimal solution to end the argument.

In terms of self-learning, learners will be able to flexibly adjust the schedule to their pace. Without having to follow a fixed timetable, elderly people can freely choose any time to start their learning, sparing them more time to spend more on alternative activities. Not only that, having a manageable schedule can avoid chances of coming across mandatory lessons that may seem boring or unnecessary to some newcomers.

Regarding attending courses, it is much easier for the older generations to acquire knowledge with the help of not only the teachers but also the classmates as they help create a suitable learning environment. The attendants can receive immediate help from the teachers whenever they struggle with anything new during the lesson. Moreover, the presence of peers may reduce the stress and the insecurities elderly newcomers can experience when learning new skills.

From my viewpoint, it is best to combine both approaches to achieve the most effective result. As enrolling classes lays a foundation for further and more in depth study by introducing learners with new skills, the process of self-educating later can be easier to handle and develop.

In conclusion, even though two forms of learning demonstrate different advantages, I think old people would benefit most when combining both methods.