Some children spend hours everyday on their computers, tablets, smartphones and spend a large part of freetime using their devices. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, a growing number of children are using phones and tablets at younger ages. Personally, I am convinced that this habit has more downsides than upsides.

The obvious advantage of using tablets and smartphones at younger ages for children is that, they may develop some abilities which is easily achievable by watching tablets or gaming video games. Take, for instance, the most popular benefit is that it improves some skills such as creativity, fast thinking ability and quick reflexes of children. All of these skills can be enhanced by playing some video games, as all of them have various contends.

Turning to negatives, one common problem with using them at younger ages is that it may cause a lot of severe diseases at that ages, such as sleep issues, attention problems, and potential addiction are the best examples for this. Even though, expert recommends all of the parents should protect their children by delaying the access, some of the parents do not consider this, due to they claim that it is not as much as possible issue and they just let their children using phones and tablets. Another possible concern is that it sometimes leads to poor eyesight among toddlers. It is because, their eyes are not so much stronger as adults’ eyes so, they can be easily tired and make some difficulties for children’s future life.

In summary, I would thus argue that despite the positive by-products of using digital devices at younger ages, as they offer learning and problem-solving opportunities, the drawbacks are far more significant, like it may cause some mental health problems.