Some children spend hours everyday on their computers, tablets, smartphones and spend a large part of freetime using their devices. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

This essay will explore both the benefits and drawbacks of using gadgets and computers for long periods before reaching a conclusion. From my perspective, although there are some valid concerns, the advantages of using smartphones and computers for long periods ultimately outweigh the disadvantages.

One major advantage of using smartphones and computers is that they make communication much easier. People can instantly contact their friends, family members, and colleagues through messages, emails, and video calls. In addition, these devices provide quick access to information and educational resources. Students can search for information online, watch educational videos, and attend online classes from anywhere. As a result, smartphones and computers help people save time and improve their learning and communication skills.

Nevertheless, these gadgets and computers are not without their drawbacks, the most significant being their harmful impact on mental and physical health. Firstly, when a person spends a huge amount of time on a screen, he will start becoming mentally exhausted, and it can also be a reason for becoming ill. For example, in 2022, scientists found that if people spend 8 hours a day on a screen for 3 years, there is a high probability they will suffer mental damage. The second reason is that when people sit for a long time, their spines might be damaged, and to cure this condition, they might need surgery.

In conclusion, while using gadgets and computers for a long time is undeniably harmful, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages because of long-distance communication with friends and relatives, as well as online and digital learning.