Some cities create housing for their growing population by providing taller buildings. Other cities create housing by building on wider areas of land. Which solution is better?

Opinions varied whether providing accommodations for the overpopulated cities should be on the wide areas of land or the developed existing buildings. While there are many benefits of extend the height of the former buildings, I strongly support the idea of creating houses in new areas.

To begin with, it is undeniable that enhancing the existing buildings have some merits, such as saving a large amount of time and money for local areas to build on the former building. Local governments do not have to find suitable places and invest on these areas housing and infrastructures. Instead, they only have to repair the former buildings. This is seen as an economical and speedy way to solve the overpopulation’s lack of accommodation situation. However, this should be only an immediate solution for urgent cases which inhabitants’ requirements of accommodation should be tackled immediately.

Another possible approach to the housing provision is to install in an entirely new land. There are various advantages of this solution. Firstly, it provides a better condition for city dwellers to live in, since they do not have to live together with the people who have already stayed in the older areas. Therefore, expanding the area of land not only provide the comfortable living space, but also reduce the harmful effects of pollution. Secondly, having a new accommodation give residents opportunity to develop their areas by themselves. Because of not being dependent on the former areas, city dwellers will be motivated to form their own cultural values and improve the local economy, which are both essential for the city’s development. Additionally, many large companies will pay attention to invest these areas, which benefits for not only the infrastructure and construction but also the living standard of local people. For instance, in Ho Chi Minh city, Suoi Tien Theme Park is developed, which attracts many national and international tourists to visit this place. This is a good example for how a widened area gain advantages from economy.

In conclusion, building taller buildings should only be considered as the immediate solution to the overpopulation. What should be emphasised is the fundamental positive impacts an expansion of accommodation in new places brings to their residents and local areas, such as the spacious and clean place to live, and further development of city’s society, particularly economy.