Some cities have vehicle-free days, when private cars, trucks, and motorcycles are banned in the city centre. People are encouraged to use public transportation like buses, taxis and metros.

Various private vehicles, leading to air pollution and traffic congestion, has become a subject of debate. While some individuals argue that the government should schedule some vehicle-free days to advocate public transportation, others contend the policy can bring significant troubles to some citizens. In my view, it is essential and helpful to take more use of public transportation by making similar policies.

It is undeniable that a complete forbidden on private cars may place obstacles to some residents, who do not have easy access to public transportation. For example, many citizens in metropolitans prefer to purchasing real estates in rural areas and driving for more than one hour to workplace, who may have to switch several metro lines to reach their destinations if the private cars are not allowed. Nevertheless, taxi and uber cars are still available and it is possible that those people can drive to some parking lots near the downtown areas before taking an underground, which can be considered as an alternative route.

Conversely, I as a proponent of having vehicle-free days believe that private vehicles have placed unbearable burdens on our environment. With wasted gas produced by numerous cars, we face challenges from deteriorating air conditions, increasing the incidence rates of respiratory as well as cardiovascular diseases. What’s worse, the carbon dioxide emissions contribute greatly to global warming, posting threats in the elevation of sea levels and recovering of ancient bacteria. A recent research revealed that if we do not take action immediately to reduce tons of carbon dioxide emission and develop more sustainable energy, some countries may be under water in a century.

In addition, it is a common occurrence in many metropolitan areas to witness highways resembling parking lots during rush hours. The excessive private cars slow down the traffic flow significantly, which can sometimes hinder the life-saving ambulances. Since the public transportation service is usually sophisticated in the city centre, it will not bring much trouble to citizens traveling from one shopping mall to another. Taking New York as an instance, where there are more than 20 metro lines built, it is convenient for residents to commute from Flushing to Manhattan through metros.

In conclusion, even if it is inconvenient for some people to commute during vehicle-free days, it is crucial to take action to mitigate air pollution and traffic congestion attributed to excessive private vehicles, from my perspective. Only with environmentally friendly lifestyles promoted can people live on a more harmonious and sustainable planet.