Some cities have vehicle-free days when cars, trucks and motorcycles are banned from the city centre. The only permitted vehicle is bicycles. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Means of transport has been a topic of concern in contemporary society. In some cities, there are days when vehicles are not allowed to commute in the city centre, except for bicycles. From my perspective, the benefits of this situation can compensate for its drawbacks for compelling reasons.

There is only one main disadvantage that people oppose these vehicle-free days, considering delivery and logistics issues. Elaborating further, bikes, which can be regarded as one of the slowest vehicles, are the only accepted ones, thereby, interrupting conveyance. In cases when customers need their goods immediately for their work, this can cause not only inefficiency but also even the poor final result of their wholesome project.

However, two primary advantages can encourage the populace to favour this policy. The first one is the pollution reduction, especially the air and noise contamination. To explain, when only sustainable transportation can travel in the city centre, the load of vehicles there will decline, aligning with the decrease of gas emission and engine sound eventually, hence facilitating the city’s greenness recovery and its citizens’ health enhancement after extensive days suffering those negative effects. Secondly, bike-only days are associated with enhanced livability, or in other words, improved public safety. Less means of transport featuring high velocity will certainly lead to fewer traffic accidents, and even if there are such cases, the damage level is not much destructive compared with the crashes among those banned vehicles. Therefore, the death rate involving traffic will gradually fall significantly.

In conclusion, besides shipping interruption, vehicle-free days can help society refrain from threats to human survival due to the decrease in pollution and accidents, so I believe that its advantages outweigh its disadvantages.