Some consumers are increasingly choosing to buy goods that are produced in their local area, rather than imported goods. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or a negative trend? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

These days, end-users tend to patronize locally-made goods instead of imported commodities. Several factors are responsible for this consumer behaviour, and I believe it is a move that should be encouraged and sustained.

Firstly, buyers who find homegrown goods cheaper than the imported ones will naturally gravitate towards them. This will definitely allow them to have extra cash to buy more goods or save. Furthermore, consumers may tend to trust locally-made products since they can easily confirm the quality of the products and the integrity of the manufacturers. In the event of any complaints, an end-user may easily lodge their issues and get them sorted quickly.

I believe it is a positive trend for both the buyers and the producers. Patronizing local manufacturers will encourage local manufacturing. Consequently, the economy of such areas will be more productive and more residents will be employed. For example, the president of my country stopped the imports of some agricultural produce into the country. A few years after the implementation of this policy, the agricultural sector grew significantly and employed more people. This policy effectively reduced our reliance on imported farm produce and improved the country’s food security. Additionally, local production encourages competition. Competition among producers may lead to price war, causing the prices of commodities to fall. In the same vein, it will encourage manufacturers to improve the quality of their products in order to beat their competitors. In my country, for instance, the price war triggered by the entry of a new player in the petroleum industry has forced marketers to reduce pump price many times. In fact, we now get better petroleum products as a result.

Finally, I would strongly advocate for people to buy from local manufacturers. It has a longterm economic effect and has the potential to improve the quality of products and services that consumers get.