Some consumers are increasingly choosing to buy goods that are produced in their local area, rather than imported goods. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or a negative trend? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Few individuals prefer to buy local products rather than the branded products for several reasons. Firstly, this initiative promotes small scale industry and has made local products readily available to buyers. And I believe, this is a positive trend as it has enormous economic benefits to the country.

One of the main reasons to buy national products is its availability. Many customers prefer shopping products that are convenient to buy and is within their proximity, so they do not have to wait longer for the desired product. Moreover, buyers can check the quality and handling of things before spending money on them for their convenience and can return or exchange without any hassle. These products are relatively cheaper and there is no imposed tax on them, hence, it can be afforded by majority of people. Secondly, this promotes small scale industries and encourages young talent to start different businesses. Earning money from introducing innovative products to the society will help local organisations to grow, and to extend into a large-scale industry within years. For example, local handbags of good quality are introduced in a country which has led to excessive decline of imported handbags.

In my view, this is a positive trend for providing financial benefits to the country. Advertising on different platforms to promote local products will attract people’s attention and will light a spark to buy these goods. This will gradually increase will become a trend which majority of people will follow and eventually the profit will be earned by the country which will improve its economy as well. In addition to this, orders from international platforms will also hit the companies and it will bring huge benefits to the future of the organisation along with the country. For example, the perfume launched by YSL in 1990’s was a local product, and due to its higher demand, its price peaked and the profit made by the company gave enormous benefit to the country itself.

In conclusion, consuming local products has become a trend as it is affordable and people often change it with time whereas there is no policy involved. And many people would consider it, as the benefits outweigh the drawbacks and this proposes huge profits to local organisations to expand and become popular worldwide.