Some consumers are increasingly choosing to buy goods that are produced in theirlocal area, rather than imported goods. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or anegative trend?

Rather than purchasing imported goods, consumers are choosing to buy goods that are locally produced instead. This essay will discuss the causes as well as why this is a positive trend.

To begin with, it is cheaper to purchase goods locally because small businesses do not mark up their prices compared to goods that are imported. Items such as fruit and vegetables are not packaged in plastic nor do they have branding on them, which increases the costs. In addition, locally produced goods do not require transportation because they are made in the area, therefore their prices are cheaper. Secondly, produce is fresher and of better quality because it does not have to go through the process of packaging and transporting to places far away. Lastly, consumers prefer to support local businesses as they are aware of the negative impact mass production has on the environment such as air pollution.

Buying goods locally is a positive trend because it creates job opportunities, especially in isolated areas where employment is scarce. Another positive aspect is that buyers save money because local shops sell their products at competitive prices making it affordable to sustain a household. Last but not least, buying locally is better for the environment because there is no need for fancy marketing such as labelling and packaging, and importing and exporting products.

To conclude, buying goods from local shop owners is increasing because it is more affordable and better for the environment, making this a positive trend among society.