Some countries have implemented mandatory community service programmes for young people. In these programmes, children aged 16 to 18 do charity work, help old people and work with animals. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages and give your opinion

Nowadays, a lot of compulsory community service programmes have been applied in some regions for teenagers. In this curriculum, children between 16 to 18 years old have oppotunities to do voluntary work, help elders and work with animals. This essay will discuss both the positive and negative impacts which these programmes bring to young people.

First, teenagers can develop their social skills if they engage in this curriculum. Simply put, when they go out and do voluntary work, they can meet numerous people and have a chance to communicate, to share with new friends about their daily routine and their experiences. As a result, young people will have a wonderful chance to become more confident and improve crucial social skills such as communication skills, listening skills,… Moreover, children aged 16 to 18 are the people who are the most active and have plenty of energy, but now, they have a trend to spend a large amount of time on electrical devices such as playing computer games and searching social media, and when they take part in these programmes, not only can they reduce the time for the Internet, but they also contribute to the development of society and country. Consequently, old people and poor ones will have more motivation to live and animals can be protected.

On the other hand, joining too many community programmes will affect directly to their study. Nowadays, teenagers have to study so much, especially children aged 16 to 18, they are in the age of high school and they will be under plenty of pressure in studying. For example, Vietnamese students have to come to school from 7 am to 12 am and from 2 pm to 5 pm and they cannot have enough time for both studying and engaging in these programmes. Furthermore, this curriculum is a mandatory community programme so children cannot object to taking part in it. As a result, the achievement in young people’s study can be decreased a lot and affect to their improvement.

In conclusion, applying some community service programmes can bring numerous benefits for both teenagers and society, it also causes drawbacks for teenagers’ study. In my opinion, I agree with these programmes but not compulsory, children just spend 2-3 days in the week engaging in doing voluntary work.