Some countries have implemented mandatory community service programmes for young people. In these programmes, children aged 16 to 18 do charity work, help old people and work with animals. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages and give your opinion

Mandatory service programmes for youngsters teach them to take responsibility, but at the same time they cause difficulties in combining this activity with other aspects of their life.

On the one hand, mandatory service work teaches teenagers to be responsible for others. Responsibility means being accountable for their actions. Engaging in tasks such as taking care of animals or assisting the elderly requires young people to recognise what needs to be done and complete them on time. For example, in China, children aged 16 to 18 participate in mandatory charity work in care homes. They have a variety of tasks, but the most common are playing chess and communicating with elderly residents. These activities teach them to understand accountability for building relationships, and help them to develop their social skills.

On the other hand,mandatory charity work causes problems for young minds in terms of workload. It is hard to combine this work with other activities. For instance, teenagers study for 8 hours at school, then have to prepare for classes and homework after school, and not to mention spending time with family and relaxing. As a result, the attempt to combine all these aspects with charity activity is a source of pressure for them. This workload affects their mental health, leading to depression and anxiety.

In conclusion, the disadvantages of mandatory community service programmes dominate over the advantages. I firmly believe that keeping the mental well-being of the young generation is more important than responsibility development in young generations, which could be developed in a safer way.